My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia - NiteNITE
Sluit
Sluit

Do you have what it takes to go beyond yourself? And are you willing to go there?

“Damn my mother, damn my father,
What has this to do with me?!
 

Simultaneously down to earth, in your face, dizzying and hallucinatory – My First Tragedy is a wild ride. A fever dream that doesn’t follow the lines of a psychological story, but rather makes an attempt to share the power of myths and rituals.

Don’t expect Euripides’ original play; only parts of the original text recur as lyrics. Bit by bit the performers deconstruct the tragedy, only to use the fragments to reconstruct a dizzying and hypnotic fever dream of dance, music and live percussion.

What moves someone to sacrifice themselves? How do you renounce yourself to allow change to occur? How do you make room for something new? And to what extent is this really your choice when the outcome seems inevitable?

read the tour program

In My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia, Mart van Berckel and Angela Herenda bring the Greek tragedy of Iphigeneia back to its source: a penetrating ritual in which individuals struggle with self-sacrifice and the mercilessly striking and inevitable fate. Van Berckel and Herenda previously co-produced the Parade hit play, Carry/Jump/Catch. The Parool wrote about it, “You get the most energy, without a doubt, from the seven dancers of Club Guy & Roni’s Poetic Disasters Club. Young people who go beyond themselves.

CREDITS
directed by Mart van Berckel, Angela Herenda
cast Joost Bolt, Camilo Chapela, Sofiko Nachkebiya, Arno Verbruggen, Femke Arnouts, Yung-Tuan Ku
dramaturgy Aukje Verhoog
composition Tijn Wybenga
set and lighting design Vera Selhorst
costumes Rosa Schützendorf
directors assistent Merit Vessies 

Photography: Sanne Peper

tourlist

Apr
Thu 13 Apr 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Stadsschouwburg De Harmonie Leeuwarden
Fri 7 Apr 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

CC Amstel Amsterdam
Thu 6 Apr 20:15
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Posthuis Theater Heerenveen
Mar
Wed 29 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Zwolse Theaters - Odeon
Fri 24 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

LUX Nijmegen
Thu 23 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater Ins Blau Leiden
Wed 22 Mar 20:00
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater aan de Rijn Arnhem
Tue 21 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Stadsschouwburg Utrecht
Sat 18 Mar 20:00
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Kunstlinie Almere
Thu 16 Mar 20:15
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater aan het Spui Den Haag
Sat 11 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater De Lieve Vrouw Amersfoort
Fri 10 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

MIMIK Deventer
Thu 9 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater Bellevue Amsterdam
Wed 8 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater Bellevue Amsterdam
Sat 4 Mar 20:00
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

De Schuur Haarlem
Fri 3 Mar 20:00
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

De Schuur Haarlem
Wed 1 Mar 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Cultuurpodium Groene Engel Oss
Feb
Sat 25 Feb 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Meervaart Theater Amsterdam
Fri 24 Feb 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

De Nieuwe Kolk Assen
Sat 18 Feb 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater de Machinefabriek Groningen
Fri 17 Feb 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater de Machinefabriek Groningen
Thu 16 Feb 20:30
Agenda

My First Tragedy: Iphigeneia

Theater de Machinefabriek Groningen

Feed

FALL FAILING is ON!

07 11 2023

Fall Failing COMING SOON

03 11 2023

OPEN CALL: photo/video creatives

17 10 2023

Poetic Disaters Club at De Parade

04 07 2022
More feeds

Stay in the know on all things NITE and when we’re around! Keep me updated

By giving my e-mail address, I give permission to be kept informed by e-mail about the performances and activities of NITE + Club Guy & Roni